September 18, 2007

  • Sept. 18th, 2007

    Day #8

                Before the
    day was only a few minutes, old, I was anxious.  Precious time was slipping away, as students sat around confused,
    fuddling around with their book bags, homework folders, and other supplies.  Around 8:50 we finally got them to the rug
    for morning meeting.  The greeting was a
    simple handshake, and for the first time the whole group seemed to be engaged,
    calling other students out for not knowing it was their turn, not speaking loudly,
    or not making eye-contact.  Next, for
    share, none of the people who were listed wanted to share.  I decided to then share myself, sharing how
    Vivian and I had worked together to put up bulletin boards the previous night.  I took a few questions and comments, and
    encouraged students to participate in the future.  The activity for the day, I borrowed only minutes before the
    start of the school day from Marcy, and was a variation on the game, “Look
    down, look up,” that we’d done before, where students sit down if they happen
    to make eye contact with another student, except this time they first had to
    switch places.

                For
    writer’s workshop, I had students practice sketching their seed ideas.  I began by telling students that I was
    feeling bored with my notebook, and asked for a thumbs up if they ever felt
    bored writing.  I showed them how I
    started a new brainstorm in my notebook of small moments with Mr. Davey, and
    then chose one, about working out during wrestling, to develop as a seed idea.  I held up my notebook, and explained my
    diagram of a wrestling mat.  I then
    engaged students by giving them 30seconds to think of a seed idea, and then to
    sketch it by drawing on the carpet.  I
    met with Anthony, who misunderstood and was drawing about the tv show Family
    Guy, as opposed to a moment involving himself, and Tyleek was drawing about a
    time he played basketball with his brother. 
    Overall, I found it to be an effective mini-lesson, although I could do
    a better job of having signs up that show the process we’re going through, and
    how the notebooks should look. 

                They then
    worked independently, and I did my first semi-official writing conference with
    Kenny.  Kenny has a hard time getting
    started, and he is very aware of this. 
    He gets very excited about what he is doing, and is very friendly, but
    needs a great deal of support.  Later,
    when we were doing math, he was also one of the few to stay on the rug for
    extra support, along with Kaliya and Saul. 
    Kenny showed that he could interpret certain math word problems, and was
    also able to do 2-digit addition.  He’s
    a student I’m interested to see how he progresses, and to better understand his
    disability.

                Before
    morning meeting even began, Kaliya was in tears.  “Someone stole my 22 pencils,” she cried.  At the end of the day, she was in tears
    again, this time when Anthony called her a thief for taking a pencil
    sharpener.  As Lynne puts it, “she is a
    very needy child.”  I had a chance to
    speak with her during our field trip on the bus ride home, and she comes from a
    family with lots of children, and might be being raised by a grandmother.  During math, for a low number 2-digit
    addition problem, she was drawing out the number, which I believe to be a 1st
    or 2nd grade skill level.

                I also
    discovered in math that several of the students are quite good at the subject.  They can do 3-digit addition, and had
    figured out multiplication.  Angelo is
    by far the most advanced, and will need more challenging work.  He is very excited about how bright he is,
    and apparently in reading he is lower than he thought he was, because an uncle
    of his was having him read “challenging books,” that may have set him back a
    bit.

                Overall, I
    have a general sense that I, meaning Lynne and myself, and the whole grade
    team, are 2 weeks behind where we need to be. 
    I’m still planning math on a daily basis, and am overwhelmed with trying
    to identify what math lesson to teach from either Everyday Math or Terc.  I am hoping that come October, I will better
    be able to follow a more scripted program. 
    In writing, I don’t have a sense of how to teach drafting or
    editing.  I could do better by looking
    more online, and getting examples of what a published personal narrative for 5th
    grade might look like.

     

                For the
    last hour of the day, Lynne and I had no plan, and Lynne was out for a
    collegial crew meeting.  I was going to
    try an improvised lesson, creating a brainstorm of what students felt about and
    remembered about 4th grade social studies.  I began this and got the expected responses, “It sucks,” “It was
    boring,” “It was a complete waste of time.” 
    Clearly, some things in education haven’t changed, notably, students’
    perceptions of what their learning. 
    Either the material wasn’t presented as relevant, wasn’t presented in an
    engaging way, or perhaps the students simply didn’t have the skills to access
    the content.  That last reason worries
    me, because I like to believe that teachers can engage almost any child.

                The
    conversation quickly broke down, as people were talking over one another.  Perhaps this was because of my instruction,
    or my not having set-up the expectations for student behavior.  However, I made sure not to yell at the
    students.  I made sure not to get angry
    at them.  Instead, I waited.  I began to time them, “How long will it take
    for you to get into a circle for this lesson?” I rhetorically asked.  Over 3 minutes passed.  Students were growing angry at one
    another.  I decided to bail on the
    history lesson, and have students try to think about why it was so hard for
    them to quiet down.  A few students
    stepped up in the conversation, while a few were checked out.  I believe 5th grade is the
    beginning age for having these types of group dynamic discussions, at least for
    any length of time.  Six thru eight year
    olds I expect would be squirming.  I
    found myself on several occasions trying to silence the class and drawing back
    their attention with my clapping, which sometimes falls on deaf ears.  It was a frustrating hour for me and for the
    students, but I tried to steer them with the message that it was up to them to
    solve this problem.  “The answer is in
    the group,” I told them, which received a reply from Tahjannay, “It is?”  I believe my Outward Bound experience,
    working with groups and focusing on personal development, may find itself very
    useful in the traditional classroom.

                Only
    3 weeks in, I realize that I am uniquely inspired, and also ignorant of
    much.  My goal continues to be to
    acquire ideas from others, and to seek advice from those with experience.   In many ways, I still doubt myself,
    thinking that I wouldn’t be fit to teach in a suburban neighborhood where a
    principal might expect a certain body of knowledge that I may not possess.  However, given the opportunity I have to
    work with kids, I have recognized that I do bring an ability to think ahead
    about things, and to analyze the classroom in a way that so far has lead to a
    positive classroom climate.  I have also
    found that I inspire and support other teachers in their own struggles and
    insecurities with teaching.  My goal for
    now, and for the rest of the year, must be to stay focused on acquiring and
    organizing material and lessons to engage and challenge my students.  That’s nothing special to me, it’s just the
    challenge that every teacher faces.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *