September 10, 2007

  • Narrative #1

     

    My mom is in the kitchen.  She is standing over the sink, and she calls me over to turn on
    the water so she can wash the chicken. 
    She then asks me to open the wooden cabinet and find the garlic, basil,
    and paprika.  “Sprinkle a little of all
    three onto the chicken,” she tells me. 
    I love helping my mom cook, and this meal is for Rosh HaShana, the
    Jewish New Year.  The kitchen is full of
    delicious smells, and as I open the oven, I can see a sweet noodle pudding, the
    noodles toasting brown and sweet raisins on top.  Inside the refrigerator is a bag of apples.  I grab them for her, pull open the bag, and
    one by one hand them to her.  With both
    hands she rinses them under the sink, then places them on the cutting
    board.  With a sharp knife, she slices
    them in half, then in half again, making four quarters.  She takes extra care to cut out the seeds
    from the middle.  These apples she
    places in a clear bowl.  Later, they
    will be dipped in honey.  This is a
    tradition for all Jewish people, the sweet taste for a sweet year.

     

                Narrative #2

     

    When
    I went home, I did lots of things and had a lot of fun.  First I went to my bedroom.  In my room I read for a while.  Reading is something I love to do, because I
    enjoy fiction books and I learn a lot of things from reading books. Then my mom
    called me down to help her in the kitchen. 
    My mom was cooking food for the Jewish holiday, and everything smelled
    really good.  I like helping my mom
    cook, because it’s a lot of fun.  I
    helped her get ready, then my family sat down for dinner.  I was so full after eating, and then we had
    dessert.  I love having dinner with my
    family, and the food was delicious. 
    After dinner, I went for a bike ride around my neighborhood with one of
    my friends.

     

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *