March 7, 2007

  • Topic: I miss an audience

    I feel more confident in myself right now than perhaps at anytime in my life.  Not that I say that without caution, but it’s the truth.  I’ve been living in a great apartment in Brooklyn for almost a year now, been thrown into the gauntlet of being a New York City school teacher for a group of 5 mildly unruly 10-yr. olds, and am living a rather busy life that leaves me little time for feel concerned about the future.  Of course, my job provides a lifetimes worth of dread and anxiety every morning, and until 3:10, but even that I’m somehow growing used to.

    I want to start writing more for you guys.  Not that I have all the time in the world, but I am ready to begin a new phase with Xanga.  When I first began, I was 22 and straight out of college.  It’s been 3 1/2 years now, and this post-college experience has been more exciting than I could imagine.  I’ve moved out of depression, and my idealist lone-ranger save the world head, and am now developing as a professional educator.  It’s a bit interesting to see a part of my life played out in these words. 

    And now there’s a girl, and she’s amazing, and I guess I want to kind of shout it out to the world, sort of thing.  But, this is a teacher blog, so I hesitate a bit, but the thing is, she’s a teacher too!  And a wonderful one.  And I can’t begin to tell you how wonderful that makes things, to have someone who understands what it feels like to have a girl refuse to spit out her gum, and then to engage in a game of “hide the gum under the tounge,” and to actually have students complain, “you’re too nice, you don’t yell!”  Of course, when I then yell, they yell back, and when I say, “you proved my point about why I don’t yell,” they look at me like I’m an alien. 

    OK…will stop hear and listen to your thoughts.

Comments (3)

  • Amazing how it all comes full circle isn’t it?  Glad things are going well.  Great news about the girl!  When did this happen and where the hell have I been?   Well, congrats on the clear head and all.

  • shout it out then…

  • That’s great to hear you are happily evolving. Those students are lucky to have one teacher to five of them.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *