February 27, 2007

  • Topic: Daily teaching reflection

    Reflection continues to be important to me, as each day
    brings new knowledge about my students, my subjects, and my profession.  D….. proved to be my most challenging
    student today.  She made me frustrated
    when she got up at the start of our literacy lesson, and despite her small
    figure and quiet voice, she fired off cannons, “I don’t care, this is
    stupid.”  She walks away with a shrug,
    completely defiant.  Psychologically,
    she appears as though she expects me to scream at her.  After making comments, she will look my
    way.  She has even criticized me openly
    for being, “too nice.”  But, this is a
    girl who won’t be controlled by me. 
    Still, this girl is a child, and she cried in class when I called home
    one time.  Her mom beats her when she
    misbehaves, and after sending home a note on Monday, she commented, “my mom
    didn’t hit me last night.” 

    A blog linked from EdWize spoke about the uncivility of
    working in schools.  My two female
    students define uncivility at times. 
    They walk out of the room when they want, they speak in a loud and
    threatening tone for the smallest of things, they create activities for
    themselves that are unrelated to what is being taught and are sometimes
    inappropriate.  They decide when they’re
    going to the library, when it’s time to paint, when it’s time to move books.

    I’m aware that part of the problem is these students have
    been in school for the last 5 years, and I’m back in it for the first time in a
    while.  I can’t meet all their needs,
    and expectations for how they’re used to their classroom. 

    What I think I realized today is that I need to become more
    in charge, while also balancing the fact that my students won’t always do as I
    say.  On the side of control, I need to
    set my expectations and reward students who go along with them.  Students who are on task, kind, focused, and
    making an effort will all be rewarded. 
    Students who are not, I am communicating that message to home, and at
    the end of the day reflecting on why the student is acting as they are.  What do they need to learn socially, and how
    can they best learn that? 

    Despite my idealism coming into teaching, the one thing I’ve
    learned is that like most things in life, experience matters.  I don’t yet have a bag of tricks for the
    different students in my classroom, and I’m trying to absorb all the ideas
    coming my way from other teachers.  My
    librarian suggested giving them choice, since pre-teens don’t like to always be
    told what to do.  So maybe letting them
    choose when to do literacy and when to do math.  Psychologically, this might help them participate rather than
    rebel.  I’ve begun starting the day with
    a game of hangman, and beginning the last hour of the day after lunch with a
    game of word bingo, to give the students the “fun,” that they and all people
    really crave.

    I’ve become so focused on getting through the literacy
    and math, that I’ve forgotten my true values of education.  I want my students to enjoy coming to
    school, and to teach things in fun and creative ways, while promoting positive
    social behaviors.  Now…on to the hard
    part of putting this into action.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *