Month: June 2006

  • Topic: New York City Teaching Fellows, week #1

    OK…i’m back to write. And for a few reasons. One is, life has been wild and exciting this past week, second is that I began talking to people about the book again, third is I’ve had week full of education, which happens to be about education, fourth, I just had an interesting conversation with the principal of an alternative public school in nyc, and fifth, if I end up some of my classmates and colleagues here, I want to clean things up and get back to relevant postings, and i guess just cross my fingers that there’s nothing in this blog that will burn me in some way, but I don’t expect that to be the case.

    So, let me catch up on things. I’ve begun my masters in elementary special education at Brooklyn College. My first course is a crash course in educational psychology, only 7 days, from 9am to 4:30pm! After, from 4:30-6:30, we have teaching fellow advisory sessions, where we discuss things like what to expect as a first year teacher, how to structure our lessons, how to manage our classes, etc.

    My days have been crazy packed, and it’s been wonderful. Like waking up to go hiking all day, it’s long, exhausting, but fulfilling. I’ve actually been waking up at 5am to run, and then using my time on the train to keep up with reading. Much of the summer will involve long days like these, but with Friday off, I already feel anxious having free time, I’ve grown used to the adrenaline of filling my every moment and racing against the clock to fill my seconds before I turn in for the night.

    My class has been wonderful. The people I mean. 30 of them, from around the country, 6 guys, 6 African Americans, a Jamaican, people taking 50% paycuts, recent grads, mothers with grown children. It’s quite a mix, far different from an undergrad experience. Going through the intense days has already created a bond amongst classmates which has been great, and as I move into Park Slope, Brooklyn next weekend, I will have many colleagues in the neighborhood.

    So, that’s all been good. Learning some basic theories of psych development, Lev Vygotsky and Jean Piaget, who talk discuss how all learning is built upon prior expeiences, and are in the category of constructivist psychologists. Although much of it seems common sense, I’m enjoying the exposure to psych as I have no formal background in it. It has been helpful to think, however, about the varying levels of cognition/ability we will find in our students, and some of this basic theory will help me in the classroom as I work to identify the different levels my students are at, and try to vary my instruction to help each one.

    During lunch today, another student who recently graduated from Cornell, began discussing how he hated many students in his school because they were so grade obsessed. This made a nice segway for my views on education, and as I had hoped, I soon had several classmates in conversation about our overlapping views on what’s wrong w/ our culture of education. Notably, my friend from Cornell mentioned how he had visited China, and got a sense there of students who were extremely motivated and excited to be in school, a far cry from our culture of complaining. It got me excited to recognize that for at least the next two years, I’m going to be working with people whose first line of conversation is often going to revolve around education.

    Tonight, I spoke to the principal of a public school in the Bronx that is part of the Big Picture Company, a school whose model is to have students learn through internships. The conversation helped me come to a realization that might seem obvious to many, but as someone who has felt strongly about what education “should” be, it was important to discover. That discovery is that there is no ideal school, except for the school that works for the individual student and teacher. Philosophicaly, the internship based school makes sense in 100 ways, but a lot of my love for this type of school was based on philosophy, and ignored reality. In my eyes, it wasn’t an internship school, but that it was a “school that didn’t force kids to take classes they didn’t want to take,” that I saw.

    The principal said to me, “I’ve taught for 20 years, and have probably changed my educational philosophy about 8 times. I’ve seen great schools on the left, and great schools on the right…”

    That comment hit me on many levels, both for education and society. A hippy, democratic, happy school can be both liberating and wonderful, and also an unorganized confusing mess, just as a rigid teacher slapping kids with a ruler type school can create obedient and extremely bright young people as well as scarred ones.

    As it comes my turn to “teach,” I will be teaching with my personality as much as anything. My style will be traditional, as my job demands that I prepare students to meet certain academic standards, but what I say and how I say it are all to my own, and that I’m excited about.

    I know I’ll have many more postings to come, as I genuinely sense I have fallen into something that I can grow in.

    -dan

  • topic: blogging hiatus

    When I first began this blog, it was a suggestion of a professor as a way to get my writing out there. At the time, my writing was about education and schooling. I spent a solid 1 1/2 years on that topic, genuinely trying to reach a large audience, both through this blog, my book, and articles in my college paper.

    Since then, this blog has taken on many forms, from daily rants, life rants, attempts at humor, attempts to inspire, daily recollections, and a range of other topics and purposes.

    Recently, I’ve begun thinking about the consequences of my blogging. I’ve begun to recognize the openness in which I write, and what it might mean if others read it. Where once I might have proudly told people, hey, check out www.xanga.com/dansjournal, there’s really nothing here anymore that I quite feel like showing off.

    So…if I don’t post anything for some time, that’s probably why. Plan on doing more personal writing, get myself a spanking new journal and go to work on that. Perhaps if during my experiences w/ teaching and grad school, I’ll find rejuvinated interest in writing about education.

    probably, i’ll still post occassional updates, as i’ve discovered people that i’ve told about this site occassionally check in, and have even admitted to coming to this site due to boredom at their jobs, so maybe i’ll keep writing for there entertainment.

    all for now.

  • Topic: highs and lows

    Found a potentially amazing apartment in park slope, but lots of people were interested.  If I get the nod, I’m snatching this puppy up.

    Went hiking today w/ my NOLS group to a place called Breackneck Ridge, about an hr. train ride north of NYC.  Was back in nyc by 3:30pm, and had already done 4hrs. of scrambling and hiking.  Good!

    Took 2 teaching cert. exams yesturday.  I think they wrote these tests 50 years ago and forgot to change some questions.
    ex)

    Which activity is the best for cardio vascular fitness?

    a) bowling
    b) softball
    c) tumbling
    d) folk dancing

    I spent more time on this question than any other, narrowed it down to C and D.  Folk dancing had some potential, some kinds are pretty athletic, but ultimately, I went with tumbling.  I don’t know why I get all worked up about tests, they’re kinda funny.

    The Mets are friggin’ HOT!!!

    Downloaded some Curtis Mayfield = Dan dance party

    Made some salmon cakes
    1 can canned salmon
    diced peppers and celery
    1 egg
    pepper & dill
    lemon juice
    Honey Bunches of Oats cereal

    = deliciousness

    Haven’t found a school yet for the fall, and no idea where my last 2 weeks have gone

    Finished a book finally, A long way down,
    Finished some movies, Prime, Brokeback Mtn, Batman Begins

    usual life anxiousness and such, eh…

    US soccer tom., bring it on!

  • topic: props to good fuckin’ friends, in good times and bad

    one of my best friends, D, just revealed to me he’s been having thoughts of suicide. he’s at home, seeing a therapist, taking lithium and a number of other meds. he’s been diagnosed as bipolar/depressive, and has also been suffering from a stomach illness that makes daily life uncomfortable. There is likely a relationship between his physical and emotional ailments.

    one of my best female friends in college was also depressive/suicidal when we were in school. senior year she called me while i was at a party, hysterically crying. she had me come over and wanted me to drive her to the hospital, she eventually talked and cried herself to sleep. she’s since gotten better w/ the help of meds and group therapy.

    both are wonderful people, and probably the 2 friends i feel closest to in the world. possibly because so many of our conversations have revolved around issues of joy and purpose in life. my female friend went to grad school in dc for middle eastern studies, had a breackdown, and is now in school to be a physicians assistant. my guy friend, went to grad school for music in boston, and is now living home in the midwest and working for a caterer.

    they are the only two friends who i have exchanged, “i love yous” with, and i mean that neither in a romantic nor in a casual chummy way. these are the people i’d drop my own life for if they needed something.

    w/ the physician asst., there is this calming feeling that in 10 years, if we were both single, we could get married. and as i said, there’s nothing romantic between us, but there’s a genuine friendship and everytime we speak i sort of hold a pillow and pretend it’s her, because the sound of her voice is comforting.

    w/ the musician, it’s such a case of unwavering support for each other, an understanding that transcends how any other human being could understand us.

    they don’t read this blog, but then again, they don’t really need to.

  • Topic: The blog of old

    I like to escape from reality. Often, I wake up from a dream, and can’t quite remember the dream. It may have even been a nightmare. But, somehow, I want to return to that dream, because it seemed so much more interesting than being awake. And I lie for a few moments wishing this would all go away.

    There is this sad feeling in me that my personality was formed at a young age, and i wish it were different. I don’t want to be sitting here typing about my dissatisfaction with life, but I obviously just did, so THERE!

    The way I think, the way I learn, the way I talk and interact with people. Day after day I recognize the fucked-up-ness I feel. I sometimes want to change, and sometimes I just vent like this, knowing this is in no way the road to something better.

    and so i dream, and like my dreams, they are always better than reality. wherever i go, i will be chased by my demons until i am old and dying, but i will escape and imagine otherwise in order to survive.

    ask me 5min. from now what i’ve written, and i will not recall. I am like Edward Norton from Primal Fear, a character made of two people who do not know each other.

    I once gained a rush in this writing. I felt that I had inspired thought in others.

    But writing is my secret life, that I don’t talk to anyone about. Even to myself. I just occassionally sneak away, like the way my mom will hide a cigarette behind her back. It may kill her, it may not, and my writing is just as worhtless and impactful.

    It’s weird, but i’ve felt melancholy so much in my life, that experiencing it is like sitting w/ an old friend.

    i know i must turn my attention to home for 2 years and reality, but i can’t stop staring at this painting in my room of a solitary fisherman in dark blue evening waters, waiting to bring his catch back to his thatched roof hut.

    the blog of old.

  • Topic: finding jobs, apartments, life

    Apt #1 – $625/mo., all utilities included, in the heart of Park Slope, Brooklyn, but room is like 9′-6′ just enough for a futon, and living room isn’t all set up for living (small tv w/ no cable, shitty couch), comes w/ cute dog, a super calm pit bull actually.
    pro: low price, good location, nice size kitchen
    con: living room = bleh, nice roommate but not too similar

    Apt #2 – $850/mo., all utilities included, 5min. walk from the heart of the area, massive basement room, decent sized backyard, roommate paints sets for Broadway, has bonzais in backyard, small kitchen/living area,
    pro: lots of character, charming, backyard rocks!!! room is huge
    con: room has no natural light, and shitty basement feel w/ the whole pipe running along 7ft. ceiling

    Jobs…

    tom. PS 361 interview, teaching K-2
    pros: great location, one subway stop from Brooklyn College where i’ll be taking classes, and on 2subway line, which leads back towards apt. area, and the school has no male staff at the moment!!! plus, if i get the job tom., i have 2 weeks to only worry about finding an apt.
    uncertainties: commitment phobia, doesn’t feel like dream job, psyching myself out too soon, wanted older kids vs. 5-7yr. olds

    Life:

    still hunting for kayak gear, and organizing logistics each weekend is pain, but not sitting at home is absolutely depressing, must make this happen, will thank myself later if i go 10-15 weekends this season.

    I actually can’t wait to begin work. I need may days to feel full, need someplace to be and things to do, fun social things that is. The teacher job fair i went to yesturday was a good taste of things to come, a number of people in the same boat as me, anxious and excited. Fingers crossed, if the school tom. is a good fit and i somehow get a position on the spot, i’m taking a weeklong vacation to Portland, Oregon, whim spontaneous travelling, the best kind.