June 15, 2006

  • topic: blogging hiatus

    When I first began this blog, it was a suggestion of a professor as a way to get my writing out there. At the time, my writing was about education and schooling. I spent a solid 1 1/2 years on that topic, genuinely trying to reach a large audience, both through this blog, my book, and articles in my college paper.

    Since then, this blog has taken on many forms, from daily rants, life rants, attempts at humor, attempts to inspire, daily recollections, and a range of other topics and purposes.

    Recently, I’ve begun thinking about the consequences of my blogging. I’ve begun to recognize the openness in which I write, and what it might mean if others read it. Where once I might have proudly told people, hey, check out www.xanga.com/dansjournal, there’s really nothing here anymore that I quite feel like showing off.

    So…if I don’t post anything for some time, that’s probably why. Plan on doing more personal writing, get myself a spanking new journal and go to work on that. Perhaps if during my experiences w/ teaching and grad school, I’ll find rejuvinated interest in writing about education.

    probably, i’ll still post occassional updates, as i’ve discovered people that i’ve told about this site occassionally check in, and have even admitted to coming to this site due to boredom at their jobs, so maybe i’ll keep writing for there entertainment.

    all for now.

Comments (2)

  • Some people call it writers block, I call it inspiration collecting.

  • I know where you’re coming from. I’ve mostly switched to private, handwritten journals myself. And anything I write on Xanga is pretty anonymous. (I don’t tell people about my site, or attach my name to it.) Good luck.

    C.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *