Month: February 2007

  • Topic: Daily teaching reflection

    Reflection continues to be important to me, as each day
    brings new knowledge about my students, my subjects, and my profession.  D….. proved to be my most challenging
    student today.  She made me frustrated
    when she got up at the start of our literacy lesson, and despite her small
    figure and quiet voice, she fired off cannons, “I don’t care, this is
    stupid.”  She walks away with a shrug,
    completely defiant.  Psychologically,
    she appears as though she expects me to scream at her.  After making comments, she will look my
    way.  She has even criticized me openly
    for being, “too nice.”  But, this is a
    girl who won’t be controlled by me. 
    Still, this girl is a child, and she cried in class when I called home
    one time.  Her mom beats her when she
    misbehaves, and after sending home a note on Monday, she commented, “my mom
    didn’t hit me last night.” 

    A blog linked from EdWize spoke about the uncivility of
    working in schools.  My two female
    students define uncivility at times. 
    They walk out of the room when they want, they speak in a loud and
    threatening tone for the smallest of things, they create activities for
    themselves that are unrelated to what is being taught and are sometimes
    inappropriate.  They decide when they’re
    going to the library, when it’s time to paint, when it’s time to move books.

    I’m aware that part of the problem is these students have
    been in school for the last 5 years, and I’m back in it for the first time in a
    while.  I can’t meet all their needs,
    and expectations for how they’re used to their classroom. 

    What I think I realized today is that I need to become more
    in charge, while also balancing the fact that my students won’t always do as I
    say.  On the side of control, I need to
    set my expectations and reward students who go along with them.  Students who are on task, kind, focused, and
    making an effort will all be rewarded. 
    Students who are not, I am communicating that message to home, and at
    the end of the day reflecting on why the student is acting as they are.  What do they need to learn socially, and how
    can they best learn that? 

    Despite my idealism coming into teaching, the one thing I’ve
    learned is that like most things in life, experience matters.  I don’t yet have a bag of tricks for the
    different students in my classroom, and I’m trying to absorb all the ideas
    coming my way from other teachers.  My
    librarian suggested giving them choice, since pre-teens don’t like to always be
    told what to do.  So maybe letting them
    choose when to do literacy and when to do math.  Psychologically, this might help them participate rather than
    rebel.  I’ve begun starting the day with
    a game of hangman, and beginning the last hour of the day after lunch with a
    game of word bingo, to give the students the “fun,” that they and all people
    really crave.

    I’ve become so focused on getting through the literacy
    and math, that I’ve forgotten my true values of education.  I want my students to enjoy coming to
    school, and to teach things in fun and creative ways, while promoting positive
    social behaviors.  Now…on to the hard
    part of putting this into action.

  • Topic: Edwize.com

    Hey, I hope I have some new readers who saw my post over on edwize.com  Glad to have you!  I haven’t been blogging too consistantly, although I’ve been keeping a daily journal of my teaching experiences.  It’s late now, and my eyes are burning, but I want to make a quick post before going to bed.

    Yesterday, I wanted to quit.  My idealism was shattered, for a day at least.  My 5-students made me lose my cool, and since I’m not a yeller, it meant a lot of hopeless please for my students to stay in the room, stay in their seats, and keep their mouths closed.  I didn’t even want to wake up this morning, I was not prepared for another beating.  But, kids will be kids, and this morning started fresh, with bright, smiley, faces running to say good morning and give me a hug.

    Today went smoother, in part because I introduced a “student of the day” reward system as an external motivator for behavior and focus, but also because it was Tues, and perhaps my students were wild on Monday simply because it was Monday.  Also, throw in the fact that I’m starting a new class in February, and most classes spend almost 2 months just trying to get students to become familiar with the routines of the classroom.

    I fully appreciate the many challenges of this job, and how those challenges only distract from our students learning.  In a calm environment, children can thrive, but that’s not what I’m dealing with.  I have students who want to “duff” (punch) each other over a game of Connect 4, or simply brushing into someone by mistake.  It’s like a class of pit-bulls sometimes, and you can see the little ones trying to imitate the big dogs.  You could laugh at the randomness of these fights, except for the fact that my students can’t read even these words that I’m writing!

    But…tom is another day.  It can be easy or hard, but I will learn something and surely so will my kids.

  • If you build
    it…they will learn
     

    Educational change begins with
    teachers and curriculum.  Teachers can
    best inspire and manage their students through curriculum designed around real
    issues that affect our students.  Our
    philosophies and attitudes towards our profession and our students spell our
    success and failure.  This is what a
    movie like Freedom Writers is all about. 
    It’s not about a teacher losing her marriage and her life in order to
    help kids, nor is it meant to give a false sense of what a school really looks
    like.  It’s about a philosophy of
    education that says all students deserve to be treated with respect, and a
    curriculum that validates our students’ experiences, and challenges them to do
    something with them.

    Freedom Writers is based on a true
    story.  The main teacher, Erin Gruwell,
    discovers a racist note being passed around her classroom, and compares the
    event to Nazi propaganda.  When she
    discovers her students are ignorant of the Holocaust, she sees the need to make
    tolerance the focus of her curriculum. 
    Through literature such as The Diary of Anne Frank and Zlata’s Diary,
    combined with journaling, and discussion, Gruwell did something that wasn’t
    heroic.  She merely taught, and the
    content naturally inspired her students to change.  In my own school, the mere act of bringing in a copy of The
    Freedom Writer’s Diary transformed certain challenging and apathetic students
    into passionate readers. 

                Critics
    complain that such inspiring stories are not real, and cannot be
    replicated.  Nevermind the fact that
    they are based on true success stories, and how the book The Freedom Writers
    Diary makes wonderful classroom curriculum. 
    Tom Moore, in his Jan 19th NYT op-ed piece, focused his ire on
    the idea that the underlying cause of movie miracles comes from the personal
    sacrifice of a teacher.  He says these
    movies create unrealistic expectations on teachers, who cannot succeed without
    “better and safer workplaces.”  On February
    5, a teacher on the education blog EdWize, described the movie Freedom Writers
    as propaganda for its message that a maverick teacher could inspire her
    students.  “Starting out as a teacher, I
    was well aware of a system fraught with problems so deep that one person could
    not change it. I did not see myself as the person who comes into a classroom
    and stands and delivers.”  

    Although the hesitations of these
    critics are not unfounded, their skepticism is one of the main points this
    movie seeks to address.   Idealist
    teachers abound, and their success in transforming classrooms and helping their
    students comes not only in the face of everyday school challenges, but despite
    these critics reminding them who they are not supposed to be.   “You’re a first-time teacher, you can’t
    make someone want an education.”  This
    is the negative support Gruwell receives from her supervisors, and resembles
    the critics who saw Freedom Writers not as a model for what is possible, but as
    treatise on what cannot be.

    Our profession may be complex in
    many ways, but stories of classroom success reveal simple truths about
    teaching.  Films such as Freedom Writers
    allow us to reflect on our own craft, and to think how each one of us, despite
    the odds, can transform our classrooms into energetic learning communities.  While critics may see only propaganda, self-destruction,
    and fiction, the change agent sees the creativity and ideas that can
    potentially shift the classroom culture that is long overdue for change.

    …………..please share your comments.  Thank you!

     

     

     

  •  

    Helping Hands

                I’m not
    good at organizing.  My suitcase is
    still un-unpacked from a trip this summer, and I have papers and other
    belongings scattered around my bedroom. 
    My classroom doesn’t look much different.  Debbie, my 6th grade ELA compadre, helped me daily to
    organize my desk area.  She got me
    folders, cabinets, boxes, and an extra bookcase for my belongings.  Still, she sounded like my mother,
    threatening to throw things out by weeks end.

                My new
    classroom, room 209, is in a similar state of disaster.  There are three tables littered with books,
    the locker area is full of boxes, the shelves in front of the bulletin board
    covered in old reference material. 
    There’s enough books in the room to last a lifetime, but with no order
    to them, I really haven’t a clue where to begin.

                That’s
    where the trusty students come in. 
    Starting with two of my new students, Dominsha and Ryann, and moving
    onto my 6th grade allies, Kathy, Jalice, and Nancy, these ladies
    began boxing and moving, clearing things out so by days end the room has
    actually begun to resemble a classroom. 
    My 6th graders really made me feel special.  Kathy comes rolling out with, “Mr. L, we got
    you covered.  This place will look like
    a classroom by the time we’re done with it. 
    That’s a promise, and I don’t break promises.”  They set out baskets with labels for books, wrote out a welcome
    sign for the front door, and wrote out the headings for my “Wall of questions.” 

                The
    experience made me feel respected.  I’ve
    been in the weird position of being in complete charge of a space, and
    responsible for directing people to make it come alive.  I’ve mostly allowed others to take charge,
    standing back and struggling to find my own vision for the place, but
    interjecting when I see something I like. 

                It’s been a
    strange experience being separated from the 6th grade, but I feel
    like I’ve earned a new status.  One
    student pointed out, “Mr. L, you’re finally a teacher, like you always wanted
    to be.”  I never in my life have said to
    myself, “I want to be a teacher,” but I’m now starting to really embrace that
    identity.  As I walked by Earic, a touch
    of sadness came over me, and I challenged him to a quick game of chess.  Walking back into room 217, I felt at
    home.  While Debbie tried to settle the
    class down, I was simply enjoying the afternoon playing chess with one of my
    closest students.

                A lot of
    people have confidence in me, and are actually excited for me to have my own
    room.  My graduate professor last night
    emphasized the importance of relationships, and that’s something I have made
    central to being in my school.  I’m even
    trying to pop my head into the older classes, just to observe and to gain a
    feeling that I can lend a hand in some way to every child in the building.  All of this is making me feel like one day I
    may want to run my own school!

                And
    I’m learning so much personally.  I’ve
    just begun a book of Malcolm X by Walter Dean Myers, in an effort to celebrate
    Black History Month, and to educate myself about history and important figures
    in the civil rights struggle.  I’ve
    begun engaging people in interesting conversations about race and social
    class.  For example, I have only
    recently become exposed directly to the low-income welfare mentality, as
    exemplified by a student commenting, “I don’t need school, I’ll be getting my
    welfare check either way,” and another student who, back from suspension, is
    only staying in school till tax season so he can help his mom earn a tax
    credit.  Then there was the comment by
    Presidential candidate Joe Biden, commenting on black candidate Barak Obama as
    “the first mainstream African-American who is articulate and bright and clean
    and a nice-looking guy.”  I guess we all
    have our stereotypes…