December 29, 2006

  • Topic: Fuck the clutter

    Cluttered room = Cluttered mind

    I hereby resolve, that from this day forward, I will not live with a cluttered room.  Sure, I may have just dumped all those loose papers and trinkets in drawers and closets, but at least my room has the appearance of being clutter free.  For the first time since I moved into my cozy Park Slope apartment, I can walk 5 uninterrupted paces.  I can now sprawl out and do push-ups and sit-ups to start my day. 

    And I can breathe.  This room has been hanging over me like those spaghetti things that run over your car in a drive through.  Now, there’s some semblance of order in this room, and with that some feeling of clarity in my mind.

    This was one of my big goals for the day.  I read a short “how to improve your memory book,” and having an organized personal space was part of that recipe.  It’s unfathomable the amount of time I’ve wasted in my life looking for things, and this I don’t expect to go away overnight.  But it makes it that much easier to see tomorrow, when I don’t have to see a week’s worth of clothing lying on every piece of furniture.

    My vacation is winding down, and it has been uneventful but interesting.  The room cleaning was most important, but there were other highlights.  I’m becoming a CNN Int’l junkie, especially enjoying watching int’l weather reports of Africa.  “It’s going to be another bright and sunny day in Ethiopia and Somalia,” amidst the backdrop of violence there.  There was also this great clip about a S. African surfer, Gary Kleynhans, who has developed a school for underprivilaged kids, that has produced some of the first black surf champoins.  In my last post, I may have come off as not appreciating what I have here in Brooklyn. I certainly do love it here, and appreciate the opportunities I have, but I think what I miss most about S. Africa is it’s similarity to our west coast.  Warm weather, relaxed people, and minutes from nature.  That, most of all, is what I miss.

    And saw the new Rocky movie, oh baby!  Talk about inspiring.

Comments (3)

  • I once dated a woman who had moved from LA to Brooklyn. We met in the spring, which might have been unfortunate, because by the end of July she was walking away, saying, “I didn’t leave Los Angeles to end up with a beach bum in Brooklyn.” So, I know it is cold, but I think you need to head south more often, to Brighton Beach and Coney Island and Jamaica Bay and Broad Channel Island and Rockaway. It won’t be South Africa, but it’ll let you slow down and be part of nature.

  • Now that is a noble venture…

  • I loved that book – what’d you think?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *