January 23, 2006

  • MAJOR: Journalism 101
    COURSE: Collaborative & Independent Journalism
    DESCRIPTION: The aim of this course is to explore the concept of collaborative and independent journalism.  While traditional news media bring the stories and opinions of select individuals into the public arean, collaborative journalism allows anyone with access to the internet to do this.  We will explor how indendent media work as collective blogs, where no one person is in control, anyone can submit articles and viewpoints, and the public can respond directly and immediately.  Also, we will discuss how collarorative journalism can be harnassed to create an educational media environment, where the purpose is to create dialogue and learning, as opposed to traditional media where the major newspapers, magazines, and tv shows are driven equally by the needs of advertisers, as the needs of the public


    ASSIGNMENT: Give an example of collaborative & independent journalism that you have experienced.


    After publishing an article on NYC indymedia’s website regarding a music teacher strike, I received the following comment in my xanga comment box from one of those music teachers.  There have also been 8 comments made directly on the indymedia site regarding the article.  Here is the comment I received on this site:


    Dan,

    As a Midori and Friends teaching artist, I have to give props to you for helping us to create a dialogue about our situation. It is thought provoking, and I can assure you that all involved are learning oodles about labor, greed, communication, etc.

    I think Bethany, [another blogger who commented on this particular labor struggle]  is asking some very good questions that reach to the heart of our struggle right now.

    I would like to give some facts from our side of the equation. The issues are many, but here are some key points to start things…

    Teaching artists for this organization make less than we did in 1998. We took a 20% pay cut that year, and have remained at that starting salary for seven years.
    Judi Linden, our executive director’s salary is currently $135,000 a year. This is up from $100,000 a year ago, that was up from $75,000 two years ago. While she has recieved a pay increase of 33% and 35% respectively, our starting salary remained stagnant. She also receives over $19,000 a year in benefits. Bethany is right that our requested raise must come from somewhere…but it seems hard for Midori and Friends to argue that it doesn’t have the funds.

    Regarding the work we do, it’s little more complex and time-consuming than most would think. We actually commute to underpriveleged schools in outlying districts to teach classes (depending on what we teach, the class sizes range from 12 to a full grade school class with more than 30 kids). Last year my school was over an hour away. So by putting in a 4 1/2 hour afternoon, I came away with a little more than $80 (I’ve been around for a couple of years, so my pay is fractionally above the starting wage of $40 a class).

    In New York City, $80 doesn’t take you very far.

    You’re right though, that, for most of us, this is a part of our puzzle. I don’t expect to pay my (absurdly high) rent with that $80. But as someone with conservatory training, and a Masters Degree in education, I do expect to be paid fairly for the work I do.

    I have much more to say about the strike, but I imagine you may have some questions…

    ~micah


    my response:



    Micah,


    I have to say, first of all, how very excited I am to get a comment from you.  This suddenly makes what was simply an exercise for me, into something a bit more, “real.”  Now, let me reflect on your comments…


    First of all, I’m curious to hear more about your experience with being a union member, dealing with negotiations for higher pay, and the experience of being on strike.  The one thing I enjoy most is getting beneath the surface to see how ultimately, we’re dealing with real people.  In my opinion, people sometimes fail to realize that union members are simply workers with varying amounts of knowledge, and when it comes to knowledge of labor law, labor economics, labor struggle, and a wide range of other labor issues, it’s important to recognize that very few people really grasp the complexities behind them.  Myself included.


    The biggest questions I have for yourself, the union, and Judi Linden, is how has the situation has come to be this way.  Why is it that the 20 or so music teachers are left standing on the sidewalk, rather than all sitting down with Judi herself?  Have you guys ever had a relationship with Judi?  I ask this, because that’s still the side of the story I haven’t been able to hear from yet.  And while we can sit here and call her greedy, we at least need to have her in the conversation.  I have no problem with the union passing judgements, but it’s important for me to know exactly why she’s been given (or given herself) these raises, while your starting pay has been frozen since 1998.


    I think your situation is one I can relate to.  The work you do is good work.  I, along with many, would agree that you don’t get paid what you deserve.  This brings us to other questions, such as, should you be paid based upon the “importance” of your work, the knowledge and experience that you bring to the job, or how much money your work helps produce?  For example, it seems outrageous that a baseball player should make millions of dollars for playing a game, while a teacher with a masters, or even a college professor with a PhD, could make only $50,000 a year.  I think this doesn’t make a lot of sense in terms of “fairness,” but, the reality is that when we choose a career, we do so without being able to choose how much that field pays.  I think it’s fair to ask, or even to demand better pay for your job, or for a group of workers such as teachers, police, and the transit union do, but it’s also valuable to attempt to view things through the eyes of management/owners (a topic for further exploration).


    One last thought I’d like to say, is that I think that as workers, you ultimately all need to decide whether it’s worth being paid $80 for 4 1/2 hours of work (2 classes plus the commute).  If it’s not, you can demand higher pay, which you guys are doing by striking.  But, if you’re unsatisfied with the pay, you need to consider leaving this company for another.  I would think that with all of your qualifications, you could find another company where you could teach music, and for better pay, better working conditions, and hopefully, with an administrative staff that you got along with better than the current one.


    So…I hope your strike brings you higher wages.  But if it doesn’t, I would hope that you don’t feel committed to this organization that obviously isn’t committed to your well-being.  It would be sad to see this organization struggle, but as I wrote earlier, it’s to a company’s own detriment to ignore the needs of its workers. 


    let’s keep the conversation doing…


    -dan


     

Comments (2)

  • I signed her guestbook with my comments-wasn’t sure if she’d check back over here.

    Way to keep the dialogue going.

    ~Bethany

  • He’d, that is.  Micah would be a guy’s name, silly me.

    Thanks for the update.

    ~Bethany

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *