October 27, 2005

  • Topic: music, movies, life, culture, work, play,


    Many thanks to my friend Greg B. for “entroducing” me w/ this cd…my first taste of “trip-hop.”  I’ve never been much into aggressive sounding music, rap, punk, etc., but this is actually one chill-cd.  Music reminds me a bit of being in a game of Zelda or some other fantasy-type video game.  Thumbs way up my friend!


    Had a good experience at work today…girl from Penn St. called looking for info about going abroad.  Fortuantely…she just started talking before I went to the usual “here’s who to contact routine.”  It was great to hear the passion in this girl’s voice for wanting to go back abroad.  She had studied in London and fell in love w/ Spain when she was there, going almost every weekend she could.  Now that she’s approaching graduation in Dec. she’s been doing all sorts of research into programs.  Her career center and study abraod office were of no help to her (hmmm…sounds familiar), and even the other orgs. similar to mine weren’t of much help, and many charge an arm and a leg for the privilage, NO, the right, NO, the responsibility to go abroad!!!


    So…after chatting for a while, this girl says, “Dan…you should get a raise!”  Yeah…you work for moments like those…and I realize that in time I will be able to handle more of the responsibility (and privilage) of assisting people looking to go abroad!


    In the news today…the Pres. of Iran was calling for the complete anhilation of Israel.  I’m still a few pieces of history away (more than a few) from giving an opinion, but radical Islam is starting to scare me a bit.  I guess it’s the whole ignorance is bliss thing…now, the more I read, the more I have reason to fear what these people want to do.  There is a movie out…(i’ll find the name soon) about Palestinian suicide bombers, that attempts to humanize them…not to justify what they do, but to give some more to the picture.  I’m looking forward to watching it when it comes out. 


    I’m beginning to sort out my Jewish identity a bit.  I think it’s important for me because it’s important to my family, and I also think it’s just good to know what it’s all about.  In that sense…I hope to learn more about the identity of Muslims, Christians, and various other faiths and cultures.  I don’t want to become obsessed w/ anti-Semitism because I’m Jewish, but because I oppose racism of all kinds.  I don’t want to look at Jewish issues and fail to see them in the context of the world at large.  For example…while Israel is certainly threatened by those who support radical Islam, including groups with the term “holy war” in their name (Islamic Jihad), one should not ignore that radical Islam also struck in Thailand yesturday, that radical Islam struck the melting pot of NYC on 9/11, that radical Islam has been driving Christian Sudanese into Ethiopia for years, that radical Islam is responsible for the two bombings in Bali…the list goes on. 


    And I think it’s important not to equate radical Islam w/ Islam in general.  Or with the Arab world in general.  Just as those who oppose U.S. foreign policy should not equate that hatred for our gov’t with hatred for U.S. the people.


    In other news…I am officially excited for the next 3 years of my life.  I am 24 now.  I’m officially in my mid-20′s.  The summer of ’06 I will be 25, and the summer of ’07 I will be 26.  Once I turn 27…I’ll be on the verge of my late 20′s. 


    I say all this to put my life in perspective a bit.  I’m sure most of us have forgotten how old we are, and that’s ok.  I hope to keep feeling like I’m 18 or 19, but I want to also keep reality in perspective.  I’ll be 24 years old, and living in NY for another 9mos. or so, and they’re going to be a memorable 9 mos. or so.  I’m going to meet some new people, do some new things, learn a lot, and prepare for year 25.


    Year 25 will be spent abroad…that’s pretty vague now, but it’ll naturally be exciting.


    Year 26 is up in the air…but i’ll be confidant by then, smarter, know more people, and be more skilled.


    By the time I’m in my late 20′s, at 27…I should be moving a bit more into something…but that’s 3 years away, which is a lifetime in reality, and when I reach that stage of my life, I’ll be ready for the new pressures that come w/ being at that age….which will involve setting new goals as I enter my 30′s…fortunately, I think you only need to tackle 3 years at a time. 


    I think school gets you thinking more about what grade you’re in.  “I’m in high school”  “I’m in college”  Suddently…you’re 22, and you don’t know what you are, or where you’re heading…but you’re always heading towards a new age for yourself.  You don’t need to be where “people your age are supposed to be.”  It still seems weird to me for people in my age range, the mid-20′s to be getting married…but that’s because I’m several years away from that stage of my life.  Same thing goes for job and finances.  The important thing is not to compare…but to assess yourself, where are you at now, and where do you want to go.


    I now carry in my wallet several lists.  My 6mo. goals, my shorter term goals, and my more details weekly goals.  Recently…I also put together my 2 year goals, which are very vague, and deal more w/ gernearlities and the state of mind I want to be in…which I will be amending because I think it’s important to have specific goals in mind. 


    Not just “climb mountains,” but “Climb Mt. McKinley”
    Not just “find a job I like,” but, “find a job where I’m helping people have wonderful adventures”
    Not just “find a girl,” but, find a girl who I can’t stop looking at because she’s so damn beautiful, and can’t stop listening to because she’s so damn interesting, and can’t stop talking to because she’s so damn easy to talk to and laugh with.


    “Hey there world…YOU SHALL KNOW MY VELOCITY!!!”

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *