April 25, 2005

  • Topic: What happened to me?


    I just met up w/ a best friend of mine growing up.  His presence no longer brings out any emotion in me.  I sat in awkward silence most of the time at his house.  I had nothing to say about my life.  I was thoughtless.


    When i sit here…i can think of things.  When my sister asks me “what’s wrong?” I’m speechless, then we begin talking about jobs for me, and I know the problem isn’t just finding the right job.  I start confusing her, and myself, and she grows frustrated. 


    I’m 2 different people, and I hate it.  I can’t make petty talk w/ people, can’t share what I’ve been thinking, can’t describe the books I’ve been reading, the music I’ve been listening to.   


    When topics turn to things that I should be interested in, now I just turn off.  I’ve drank a fair amount in my day, but am unable to join in w/ a discussion about drinking.  Even my mom knows more about baseball now than I do.  What the hell happened to me?


    My life seems devoid of memory.  I can’t hold a conversation about Phish…but if I hear one of their cd’s go on, my heart smiles.  And that…what I did right there, saying ”my heart smiles,” what the hell is up w/ that?  Who am I?


    I don’t know how things work.  I can get into politics here…but ask me what I think about politics, I’ll shrug and say, ”I dunno.”   


    Ask me what I write on my xanga…what I wrote yesturday.  I have no fuckin’ clue sometimes, and I’m never able to talk about this world to anyone.  Not that I don’t want to…I just don’t know how.  I enjoy writing it, it probably makes interesting reading, but I can’t say it…can’t think it up in person.  What the hell happened to me?


    I forget how i’ve grown to have friends…my state of mind is empty.  I have nothing to say about anything.  And I’m suffering because of all these things.


    I wish/want to think/view the world differently.  I want to be able to share my experiences.  I don’t know how though.  I don’t know how to share any of this. 


    I saw the movie Millions today with my mom.  I enjoyed it a lot, but that’s not much for conversation, is it?  There’s probably an article out there about my “condition,” I want to know what it is, and how it can be fixed.  Why I can write w/ confidence, w/out having to really think, but one-on-one, I just freeze up, and I can’t access my brain in the same way.  How did I get to be these 2 different people?


     


      

Comments (4)

  • I think many of us share something of this…when I write about a topic I find it hard to speak of again unless it is a theme…

  • ohmygoodness – i read some of that and it was like reading about my life.

    i think there are some people you can talk to – who bring it out of you the way writing does – you just haven’t found them yet.  it’s hard living a different life than everyone else – it creates a wall.  I went through this when I first came back from London.

  • i think u need a journey to reclaim urself….sometimes we get into these zones and it seems all is lost but taken out of that enviornment we realize we were just uninspired

  • Pretend for a moment that it’s more valuable that there be two of you than one of you.

    Why would that be? Do you really have to choose one or the other?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *