Month: July 2007

  • Topic: New York City, Mississippi, kids, summer vacation

    D.J. was one of my students this past year.  He was 7 years old, in a 2nd-4th grade special education classroom.  He never smiled.  That was one of his most notable behaviors.  He walked in with a frown, and the main teacher (I was more of an assistant at the time) would say, “Is everything alright DJ?” and then remark how she never saw him smile.

    Alex was another one of my students this year.  He was 10 years old, and in the same 2nd-4th grade classroom.  He was light-skinned, with long black hair, and proudly Peurto Rican.  He would pick up a book, any book, and say, “In Puerto Rico we read this book.”  Alex was illiterate, and couldn’t read a single children’s book on his own.

    Dominasha was another student of mine.  She was also 10.  During writing, she would yell at me, “I’m not doing this.”  During reading, she would put her head down and sleep, or tell me she’d do it at home.  At the start of the school day, when the class was meant to be sitting as a group, she’d be off at a different table with her sugar drink and bag of chips.  “I’m not sitting on that dirty rug,” she’d comment.  Then I’d find her doing writing in some workbook she had from home.  I’d peak at it later, and realize that she was merely copying, “Copyright 1989, New York.”  On mother’s day, she wrote a poem in Spanish.  She speaks only English.  She didn’t seem to care when I pointed this out.

    Ryann began the year in a 4th grade classroom.  She had her own para-professional to help her stay on task, since she often has behavioral problems, including acting violent towards other students, and disrespectful to teachers.  After accidentally hitting a teacher who attempted to break up a fight she was in, I became her teacher.  The first week she loved me, and couldn’t wait to help set up her new room.  Not long after, she was telling me, “I’m not staying in this stupid class.”  “Why you looking at me you black burnt biscuit,” she’d comment to another kid in the class, and then whack him in the head.  On at least 15 occasions I had to physically restrain her from chasing another student around the classroom, and deal with her scream, “get your f#%#in hands off me before I slap you.”  She nearly drove 3 paras out of our school.

    One day, during morning meeting, as students were sharing their goals, I announced, “My goal is to be super positive!” in an overly excited tone.  DJ laughed.  Later that day, as DJ was playing the game Trouble, I asked him what he liked about the game.  After he told me, I said, “Wow, you could write a great story about that.”  He looked at me like I was a bit off, but I pulled him aside and told him to write about why he liked the game Trouble.  He took his time, asked me how his spelling was, and then wrote 4 sentences.  The other teachers were surprised.  “He’s never written that much before!” they exclaimed.

    Alex continues to walk around with Don Quixote and other 500 page books, but eventually learns to sound out short words.  One day, reading a book about a monkey that loves spaghetti, Alex begins to figure out “ay” words, like play, may, day, and say.  “I can read!” he remarks, in a funny childish squeal. 

    Ryann continues to drive others a bit insane with her language and physicalness.  Her mom comes in, a woman who I’d been told had threatened our principal, and who once walked into my classroom and shouted, “Who’s the kid whose been bothering my daughter.”  For weeks, I’d been trying to get her to come in to tell her that the special education committee and myself wanted to recommend her daughter to go to a different school with a more therapeutic tone to help her with a behavior.  It turns out the mom, after years of having phone calls home, had reached a similar conclusion.  I pray, for both her sake and our school, that she gets the help she needs.

    My first year of working in a school was tough.  I had nightmares about some of these kids, woke up with severe anxiety most mornings, and felt exhausted and frustrated most of the time.  Kids need to learn simple respect, they need to learn how to read and count (many of their number skills are at 1st grade levels).   I recently road my bike through Red Hook, their community, and with new perspective realized how uninspiring the area looks (industrial, barbed wire, trash).  More to come…

  • This is me and Adria, my fellow teacher in crime, eating gaddo-gaddo pasta on a recent camping trip to Ricketts Glenn State Park, in Pa.  On Sunday, we’re flying down to Mississippi together to build some houses with the organization Habitat for Humanity. 

    I’m in the midst of my summer vacation, having just finished up my first year of working as a teacher.  I’ve decided to restart posting on this blog after comments from a couple of friends who have asked about this.  This blog will now be in honor of my friends who find interest in reading whatever it is I have to say.  It’s also a new attempt for me to connect with people.  I want my writing to be brutally bold and honest, and I look forward to the potential to learn again from those who choose to respond here. 

    Along with updates on life, I want to use this forum as my personal confessional.  I’m a person who is riddled with undiagnosed anxieties, depression, and also brilliance some may say (at least the girl in the picture seems to think there’s some good in me).  I want to learn more about my problems, and perhaps others will connect to what I am writing, and will shed some insite as I go along.  It’s not a cry for help, but an attempt to come out publicly about the problems I have, that I cannot really share verbally.  Writing will hopefully be my first step to me dealing with thoughts of not wanting to live anymore to escape the psychological pain that I am working so hard to cope with.  In fact, it is perhaps writing itself that is saving my life.  Daily, I now try to write, to capture the exact thoughts that lead me to such extreme negative thoughts, and from there, to begin to create the positive habits that can hopefully lead me to good mental health.

    I have set a temporary goal of summer of ’08 for achieving some level of mental clarity and health.  This blog will help in that process, and will also be about my daily doings.  As a teacher of writing, I am trying to be more of a writer myself, even though I cannot fully reveal this writing to my school or my students, I can still be true to them by sharing how I do write as a means of helping myself through life’s challenges, and how I use it to build relationships and learn from others.  So please share your questions and comments.

    Anyways, good to be back, for now.

    -cheers.