Month: July 2006

  • Topic: Life, hooray life!!!

    In 10 days I’m going to be in London. A four-day whirlwind tour, including seeing two close friends who I haven’t seen since I studied abroad there in 2002, and who will be married that Sunday!

    In 14 days I’m going to be in Israel. A two-week trip that currently is completely unplanned. I’m just showing up, making my way to a friend’s place, and enjoying my vacation. Not concerned with seeing the sites, or ingesting all of the politics, although I will do that. But just enjoying their culture, being care free, and then, another wedding!

    In under 24 hours I’ll be delivering 10-15 copies of my book to my NYC Teaching Fellow class. You don’t know how excited this makes me. I’m dying to hear people’s thoughts, and to stimulate a range of conversations that are at the heart of what we’re all getting into.

    In the next 48 hours I need to type-up a number of assignments for my classes. Teaching philosohy, classroom management plans, examining NYS learning standards…

    The past 48 hours I’ve been trying to break out of my comfort zone, and re-create past experiences that I’ve enjoyed. I woke up at 5am to run 3.5 miles today, and the other day I ran 3.5miles, and then another 3.5 with my roommate. I’ve been eating healthy, been thrifty, enjoyed steak and beer w/ a friend.

    Trying to make life happen…

  • Topic: I want to write

    I want to write and pour my heart out right now. This is what I want to do at this moment. I want to say something. I want to study, read, and analyze myself, and be able to produce a 3-5 page written paper, double spaced, error free, about my disjointed thoughts.

    Learning objective: Students will be able to list 5 to 10 thoughts in Dan’s head, and use a graphic organizer (t-chart, word web, Venn Diagram) to demonstrate relationships between Dan’s thoughts.

    1) People learn by making connections between new knowledge and experiences, and prior knowledge and experiences. People also learn by creating personal meaning from expeiriences. One of the principals of learning, is that meaning becomes deeper when the person says or does something, such as summarizing an idea in their own words, or practicing a new school.

    2) This post is me practicing incorporating my new knowledge about how people learn, by summarizing the idea and by using it myself, to deepen my own knowledge of the ideas I’m learning.

    3) Zoning out is a real phenomenon. Students can show many indicators of paying attention, but if their focus is constantly on things outside of the classroom, they may absorb nothing.

    4) I have limits. I am limited in my abilities, in my knowledge, in time. I am limited in my memory.

    5) I want to live my own best life.

    6) People tend to experience depression when they’re alone. For example, I can sit and have a discussion with someone in which they reveal to me that they are depressed, and during that conversation they may be fine. Or I may tell someone I’m feeling depressed, but the conversation itself makes me feel like I’m actually happy. Once we are alone again, we are stuck with the demons in our head.

    7) Note-taking helps people remember. The act of writing makes the memory deeper, and can be a useful thing for later.

    8) I am very very greatful for the opportunity I have been given. 3 months ago I wasn’t sure what this program would mean for me, but it has exceeded my expectations. At the same time, I’ve learned a lot about our culture in terms of people’s general attitudes towards both school and people. One person in my class is super motivated and apparently has done every single reading and beyond, and is taking their learning very seriously. Many in the class, all of whom are going to be teachers who will expect that level of dedication from their students, view the hard-working student as though something was wrong with them, rather than thinking highly of this person. The message I get…our culture looks down on those who work hard and take learning seriously, but also, what separates people’s success is how they individually view the work and learning they encounter.

    9) I’m tired, and want to do lots. But, I’m at my limit.

    10) but…i did break up a fight in my class, that has been an interesting “highlight” / “lowlight”

  • Topic: Teaching in a NYC public school

    The things I will write aren’t all that shocking or unusual. 5th graders who use often use fingers to add or subtract, but are sent to summer school and subjected to workbooks zooming them through curriculum they can’t possibly grasp by the end of summer exam.

    There are several students in my class who are diligent. When they enter the class, they quietly sit and begin working on their “do now.” They raiser there hands often, they step-up during group work, they know when there behavior is inappropriate and they settle down.

    The ones who are lost trouble me. They sit down, and spend the first ten minutes of class copying the “do now.” I try to move them along to the actual questions at hand. They struggle with identifying place value (680,932 has 6 digits, for example, and 9 is in the hundreds place). When asked to come up with combinations of dimes and pennies that add to $1.00, not one group can decipher how simple it is to go 10 dimes, 9 times 10 pennies, 8 dimes 20 pennies, etc. When pressed with questions, students shout out guesses, “50 dimes.” I remind them that knowing math to understand basic money transactions is the least they need to learn in school, and they seem to understand the seriousness in this.

    In my grad classes, we read case studies. One story is about a teacher who tries to bring innovative, progressive, student-driven learning into the classroom, only to have the students respond, “we liked it better last year when the teacher told us what to do.” Another story is of a young eager teacher in LA, whose students are benefiting from her instruction, while another group of students down the hall suffers from the militant instruction of a cynical veteran teacher.

    What these stories remind me is that my experiences are hardly unique. Others have run into obstacles, and their lessons are available. The fun now, is scouring books, magazines, and websites, for articles and lesson plans that will actually help my colleagues and myself to make it through year 1 of teaching.

  • off toobin’ and camping, then visiting the ol’ summer camp for a day of israeli dancing, seeing my old cabins, and all those aussies, brits, and kiwis who still spend their summers at this wonderful place!!!

  • Topic: too busy to reflect

    life feels normal and good, keeping busy w/ teaching and classes. the “need” for xanga has dwindled, i guess i’m posting here because i enjoy comments, and miss leaving comments w/ others, and i enjoy writing.
    so…some quick highlights

    -student teaching 5th grade math
    -enjoyed the amazing world cup final, and zidane’s now famous headbutt!
    -moved into Park Slope, brooklyn, nice little neighborhood
    -spending my days reading, talking, practicing education! what i was meant to be doing!
    -turning 25 in in 9 days (July 18) woo-hoo!!!
    -flying to London in less than 1 month
    -flying to Israel 4 days later!

    as i said, not feeling reflecting now (or at least on this venue), but hope all are well who come here to visit!

    -dan